Mets Starting Lineup and Rotation Taking Shape

Terry Collins uses The Force to set rotation and lineup.

With R.A. Dickey selected to follow Johan Santana in the third game of Grapefruit League play, and Jon Niese slated to pitch game four, it looks like Terry Collins is leaning toward a regular season rotation that will look like this:

2012 Starting Rotation

  1. Johan Santana
  2. R.A. Dickey
  3. Jon Niese
  4. Mike Pelfrey
  5. Dillon Gee

Of course this could still change based on performance or an unforeseen injury, but that’s pretty much what we should expect when the Mets break camp.

Terry Collins has also announced that Andres Torres will bat leadoff and that Daniel Murphy will bat second during an appearance with Mike Francesa on WFAN yesterday. He went on to discuss how the rest of the lineup would look and said he intends to bat Jason Bay in the fifth spot and that Ike Davis will be the everyday cleanup hitter in 2012.

2012 Starting Lineup

  1. Andres Torres – CF
  2. Daniel Murphy – 2B
  3. David Wright – 3B
  4. Ike Davis – 1B
  5. Jason Bay – LF
  6. Lucas Duda – RF
  7. Josh Thole – C
  8. Ruben Tejada – SS

Collins told Francesa that he doesn’t want to put any additional pressure on Ruben Tejada and that he will not use him in one of the top two spots and prefers to let him bat low in the order. I’m sure that will change if he hits like he did last season and Torres doesn’t work out at leadoff, but it’s still early so lets see how it plays out.

Agree? Disagree? Give us your thoughts…

About Joe D 7944 Articles
I'm a lifelong Mets fan who loves writing and talking about the Amazins' 24/7. From the Miracle in 1969 to the magic of 1986, and even the near misses in '73, '00 and '15, I've experienced it all - the highs and the lows. I started Mets Merized Online in 2005 to feed my addiction and interact with other passionate Met fans like you. Follow me on Twitter @metsmerized.