So You Think You Know The Mets: Pitchers Who Got MVP Votes

When Clayton Kershaw won both the Cy Young Award and National League MVP in 2014, he joined an elite club of 11 pitchers to win both awards in a single season. One of the rarest of MLB achievements. here are the 11 pitchers who have won a Most Valuable Player Award in their leagues since the inception of the Cy Young Award in 1956.

  1. Clayton Kershaw, 2014
  2. Justin Verlander, 2011
  3. Dennis Eckersley, 1992
  4. Roger Clemens, 1986
  5. Willie Hernandez, 1984
  6. Rollie Fingers, 1981
  7. Vida Blue, 1971
  8. Denny McLain, 1968
  9. Bob Gibson, 1968
  10. Sandy Koufax, 1963
  11. Don Newcombe, 1956

After Jacob deGrom won the NL Cy Young Award last week with nearly unanimous support, there was significant buzz that his remarkable season was also worthy of a National League MVP Award.

Unfortunately, Christian Yelich of the Milwaukee Brewers had a pretty remarkable season as well and he ultimately won MVP honors for the 2018 season. Maybe next year, Jake. 😉

While no Mets pitcher has ever won an MVP, 16 of them have garnered MVP votes over the years, and that is the basis of this week’s Mets Quiz.

Can you name all 16 Mets pitchers who have received votes in the MVP balloting? You will have two and a half minutes to name all 16 pitchers.

So you think you know the Mets?

Prove it!  Good Luck!!!

About Joe D 8025 Articles
I'm a lifelong Mets fan who loves writing and talking about the Amazins' 24/7. From the Miracle in 1969 to the magic of 1986, and even the near misses in '73, '00 and '15, I've experienced it all - the highs and the lows. I started Mets Merized Online in 2005 to feed my addiction and interact with other passionate Met fans like you. Follow me on Twitter @metsmerized.