MLB Announces 2018 Gold Glove Award Winners

Tonight, Rawlings and Major League Baseball announced the Gold Glove Award Winners for the 2018 MLB season.

In the National League, the winners were:

Rizzo and Freeman presented only the fourth tie in Gold Glove history. LeMahieu beat out defensive wizard Javier Baez at second base, and his teammate Nolan Arenado won his sixth award in as many seasons. He has one for every season he’s played in the majors. Former UConn Husky Nick Amed won his first award, one of two Diamondbacks to win.

Dickerson will take home some gold in his first season back in the National League after DHing in Tampa last season. Ender Inciarte won his fourth award in a row, and his teammate Markakis won his third Gold Glove, his first since 2014. Molina won his ninth, and first since 2015. His award-battery mate, Zack Grenkie, won his fifth consecutive award.

In the American League, the winners were as follows:

Both the Red Sox and the Athletics brought home multiple winners, three of whom won their first Gold Glove. Simmons won his fourth consecutive award, and Alex Gordon won his sixth overall. Ian Kinsler won at second base, giving each the Red Sox and Angels a Gold Glove second baseman in 2018. Sal Perez fended off tough competition in the American League to win yet another Gold Glove. Dallas Keuchel won his fourth award, rounding out the winners in the American League.

As I’m sure you can tell by now, there were no Mets who brought home any silverware this season. The Mets failed to even present a finalist for the award; Juan Lagares is still the most recent Met to win back in 2014. The Mets will look for their overall defensive prowess as a team to change in 2019, as Brodie Van Wagenen has already stated his desire to improve defensively up the middle this off-season.

About Jack Ramsey 124 Articles
Jack is a teenage Mets fan from Southington, Connecticut, who has journeyed to Central Florida. Jack is a junior in Orlando. Follow him on twitter @jackramseyy