DeGrom’s Dominance Rewarded with NL Cy Young; Snell Wins in AL

On Wednesday night, Jacob deGrom became the fourth New York Mets pitcher to win the National League Cy Young Award. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America confirmed deGrom’s dominance with 29-of-30 first-place votes. Full voting results can be found here.

Jacob deGrom reached a level of excellence that only Tom Seaver (1969, 1973, 1975), Dwight Gooden (1985), and R.A. Dickey (2012) have ever reached with a Mets uniform on.

On Tuesday, both Gooden and Dickey spoke with Kevin Kernan of the New York Post, showering deGrom with praise and well-wishes heading into the announcement ceremony.

“Hitters talk about how filthy he is. One of the reasons […] is because of how consistently he pounds the strike zone,” the 2012 NL Cy Young Award winner said. “[…] It’s like watching a piece of art happen in front of your eyes.”

“To welcome him as a Mets Cy Young winner would mean a great deal to me,” Gooden said. “[…] I’d welcome him into the [club] with open arms. It’s an accomplishment well-deserved.”

The 30-year-old Florida native pitched to a 10-9 record in 32 starts, with an MLB-leading 1.70 earned-run average, 269 strikeouts, 46 walks, and only allowed ten home runs all season. His 0.91 WHIP was tied for the NL lead with co-finalist, Max Scherzer.

He led all of baseball with his 1.99 fielding independent pitching rating, 2.60 xFIP, 8.8 fWAR, and 0.41 home runs allowed per nine innings. Jacob deGrom set all-time MLB records for most consecutive quality starts (25) and most consecutive starts allowing three runs or fewer (29).

For those who may be too young to remember Tom Terrific in his heyday or Doctor K in 1985, this was the greatest pitching performance you’ve ever seen from a Mets hurler. Now, it’s been sewn into the historic fabric of this beautiful game.

Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals finished second in the voting. The 34-year-old tied for the league lead with his 18 wins this season (Miles Mikolas, St. Louis), and led the NL with 300 strikeouts, 220.2 innings pitched and finished the year with a 2.53 ERA, good for third in the league.

Aaron Nola of the Philadelphia Phillies finished third. Nola, 25, finished the season 17-6 for the Phils, owning a 2.37 ERA with 224 strikeouts, a 3.01 FIP, and 5.6 fWAR in 212.1 innings of work.

Tampa Bay starter Blake Snell took home the American League Cy Young Award, winning an extremely close race over Houston’s Justin Verlander, with Corey Kluber of the Indians finishing third. Complete voting results can be found here.

Snell was an integral part to the Tampa Bay Rays 90-72 resurgence in the AL East. The 25-year-old left-hander went 21-5 over 31 starts (180.2 innings) with a 1.89 ERA, 0.97 WHIP, 2.95 FIP, and 4.6 fWAR. He notched 221 strikeouts and allowed 64 bases-on-balls.

Corey Kluber went 20-7 for the AL Central champion Cleveland Indians, racking up 222 strikeouts against 34 walks, with a 3.12 FIP, 0.99 WHIP, and 5.6 fWAR in 215 innings pitched (33 starts). Kluber, 32, led the American League with his 1.42 walks per nine innings.

Justin Verlander had arguably the best season of his career at age 35 for the AL West-winning Houston Astros. Verlander went 15-8 with a 2.52 ERA, an AL-leading 290 strikeouts, only 37 walks, and a 0.90 WHIP. The veteran right-hander had a 2.78 FIP, 3.03 xFIP, and a league-leading 6.8 fWAR.

The BBWAA will announce the NL and AL MVP Award winners on Thursday night.

About Tim Ryder 457 Articles
Senior Writer for Metsmerized Online. A native of the South Shore of Long Island. Follow me on Twitter @TimothyRRyder