Bellinger, Judge Earn Rookie of the Year Titles

For the fourth time in MLB history, both the National League and American League Rookie of the Year votes were unanimously decided. Cody Bellinger and Aaron Judge won the titles in their respective leagues as the results were announced Monday night.

Bellinger, 22, hit .267/.352/.581 with 39 home runs (a National League rookie record) with 97 RBIs, 10 stolen bases, a 4.0 fWAR and 138 wRC+. Only Mark McGwire (49) and Aaron Judge (52) have hit more home runs in their rookie seasons.

This is the second straight season a Dodgers player has won the NL Rookie of the Year award unanimously as shortstop Corey Seager did it last year. Bellinger is the 18th Dodger to win Rookie of the Year which is by far the most for any franchise.

Paul DeJong (.285/.325/.532 with 25 HR and 65 RBI) and Josh Bell (.255/.344/.446 with 26 HR and 90 RBI), who play for the Cardinals and Pirates respectively, finished second and third in voting.

Aaron Judge, 25, hit .284/.422/.627 with 52 home runs and 127 walks, both rookie records. His 208 strikeouts were the most for a rookie in MLB history as well. He is the first Yankee to win ROY since Derek Jeter in 1996.

Judge beat out Red Sox outfielder Andrew Benintendi (.271/.352/.424 with 20 HR, 90 RBI and 20 SB) and Orioles outfielder Trey Mancini (.293/.338/.488 with 24 HR and 78 RBI) who finished second and third respectively. Judge is also a finalist for the American League MVP award, however Astros’ second baseman Jose Altuve will be tough to beat.

About Logan Barer 646 Articles
Ever since I experienced Mike Piazza's post 9/11 home run to beat the Braves at Shea, I have been a die-hard Mets fan and exhaustive lover of baseball. I am a recent graduate of Ithaca College where I pitched on the varsity baseball team for four years and have been writing for MetsMerized Online since January of 2015. Follow me on twitter @LBarer32