Mike Trout and Giancarlo Stanton Win Hank Aaron Awards

mike trout giancarlo stanton

Major League Baseball announced that Angels center fielder Mike Trout and Marlins right fielder Giancarlo Stanton are the winners of the 2014 Hank Aaron Award in their respective leagues.

Since 1999, the Hank Aaron Award is presented annually to the best overall offensive performer in both the American League and National League.

In a press conference and pregame ceremony held at AT&T Park prior to Game 4 of the World Series, commissioner Bud Selig formally presented the awards to both Trout and Stanton.

Trout, 23, batted .287 with a .377 OBP for the Angels with 39 doubles, nine triples, and a league leading 36 homers and 111 RBI.

In a season cut short by a gruesome pitch to his face, the 24-year old Stanton batted .288 with a .395 OBP and .555 Slugging for the Marlins. He laced 31 doubles while clubbing an MLB leading 37 homers to go with 105 RBI.

Congratulations to both these deserving young players.

(Photo: USATSI)


About MMO News Desk 196 Articles
Metsmerized Online is dedicated to providing our readers with accurate and unbiased reporting on any Mets or MLB news. The MMO News Desk is monitored by our senior editorial staff.