David Wright Named NL Captain For Home Run Derby

home run derby

A New York player will captain both Home Run Derby teams during this year’s All-Star week. David Wright will captain the National League while Robinson Cano will look to lead the American League to it’s fourth-straight title.

Wright, who hasn’t participated in the Derby since 2006, will select three additional players from the National League to complete his squad. Wright currently sits tied for 27th in the National League in home runs with eight. He’s tied for third on the Mets with Marlon Byrd behind Lucas Duda (10) and John Buck (11).

This marks the first official hometown representative for the Mets for the All-Star activities at Citi Field.

A Mets Player has not won the Home Run Derby since Daryl Strawberry shared the award with Angles first baseman Wally Joyner in 1986 in The Astrodome.

Thoughts from Joe D.

Wright currently ranks second in All-Star voting at third base, behind San Francisco’s Pablo Sandoval, and needs your votes start the All-Star Game at Citi Field.

Lets do what we can to see Wright overtake Sandoval so that he can rightfully be the starting third baseman for the NL. He is ahead of Sandoval is just about ever offensive category and as a defender he blows the chubby hobbit away.

Vote for David Wright now at cast your 35 votes at Mets.com. We have until Thursday, July 4, at 11:59 p.m. ET to get this done. Come on Met fans… Lets Do This!