MMO Hall of Fame Ballot: And The Winners Are…

All the Hall of Fame ballots have been cast, all the votes have been tallied, and now there’s some guy in a Steve Henderson jersey is walking to the podium with a large white envelope in his hand…

You guessed it, it’s time for MMO to reveal their Hall of Fame results and the winners are… A drum roll please…

Congratulations to…

craig biggio2

Craig Biggio


Jeff Bagwell

mike piazza

Mike Piazza

The results are based on 25 of the 42 MMO writers who completed their ballots by the deadline, and here is a breakdown of our tally card:

hof vote

If only the Baseball Writers Association of America had the sensibility to cast a similar result, but as I wrote a few days ago, it doesn’t look good for Mike Piazza based on what we’re all seeing and reading.

Our individual ballots looked like this:

  • Jim – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio
  • Connor – Piazza, Bagwell, Schilling, Martinez
  • Satish – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Schilling, Martinez, Morris, McGriff
  • Dan – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Schilling, Martinez, Clemens
  • Brandon – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Schilling, Morris
  • Doug – Piazza, Biggio, Morris
  • Tyler – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Schilling, Mattingly, Franco
  • Barry – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Bonds, Clemens
  • Joe D. – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Morris, McGriff
  • Matt B. – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Morris, Clayton
  • Tie Dyed – Piazza, Biggio, Raines, Bonds, McGriff, Smith, McGwire
  • Joe S. – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Morris
  • Jessep – Piazza, Bagwell, Schilling, Martinez, Bonds, Clemens
  • HoJo – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Scilling, Martinez, McGriff, Trammell
  • Nick – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Martinez
  • Xtreem – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Schilling, Martinez, Bonds, Clemens, Palmeiro
  • Larry – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Trammell
  • Clare – Piazza, Schilling
  • Clayton – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, McGriff, Trammell
  • Drew – Piazza, Bagwell, Raines, McGriff, Trammell
  • Sean – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Martinez, Walker
  • Craig – Piazza, Bagwell
  • Gregg – Piazza, Raines, Schilling, Smith
  • Adam – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Martinez, Bonds, Clemens, McGwire, Palmeiro, Sosa
  • Mitch – Piazza, Bagwell, Biggio, Raines, Morris, Bonds, Trammell, Murphy

Here is what you need to know for later this afternoon…



Will be announced Wednesday at 2:00 PM at The announcement will be televised live on MLB Network, with Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson delivering the result. A live video stream of the announcement will be a carried at and Some writers’ ballots will be available online at

Notable First-Timers On Ballot

Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mike Piazza, Craig Biggio, Sammy Sosa, Curt Schilling, Kenny Lofton

Notable Holdovers

Dale Murphy (15th and final year on ballot), Jack Morris (14th), Alan Trammell (12th), Lee Smith (11th), Mark McGwire (seventh), Tim Raines (sixth), Edgar Martinez (fourth), Jeff Bagwell (third)

Who Votes

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America consists of more than 600 individuals who have covered major league baseball and its teams for 10 or more years for daily newsgathering organizations.

Who Gets In

All candidates who receive votes on at least 75 percent of ballots cast will earn election to Cooperstown and be inducted July 28.

Induction Ceremony

July 28 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

About Joe D 7953 Articles
I'm a lifelong Mets fan who loves writing and talking about the Amazins' 24/7. From the Miracle in 1969 to the magic of 1986, and even the near misses in '73, '00 and '15, I've experienced it all - the highs and the lows. I started Mets Merized Online in 2005 to feed my addiction and interact with other passionate Met fans like you. Follow me on Twitter @metsmerized.