Wilmer Flores and Rafael Montero To Be Honored As 2012 Sterling Award Winners

The New York Mets have announced today that Wilmer Flores has won the Sterling Organizational Player of the Year Award in 2012.

Right-hander Rafael Montero won the Sterling Organizational Pitcher of the Year Award.

Flores, 21, had a tremendous campaign this season hitting a combined .300 with 18 homers and 75 RBIs between St. Lucie and Binghamton. After experiencing some regression in 2011, Flores as catapulted himself back to the top of the rankings as a prospect.

Montero, 21, went 11-5 with a 2.36 ERA between Savannah and St. Lucie this season, striking out 110 batters and walking just 19 of them in 122.0 innings pitched. After being promoted to St. Lucie, Montero went 5-2 with a 2.13 ERA in eight starts with 56 strikeouts and only 11 walks in 50 2/3 innings.

The following individual team MVP winners who will also be on hand:

RHP Matt Harvey, Buffalo

RHP Zack Wheeler, Binghamton

OF/2B Alonzo Harris Jr., St. Lucie

RHP Michael Fulmer , Savannah

RHP Hansel Robles, Brooklyn

RHP Miller Diaz, Kingsport

RHP Yoryi Nuez, Dominican Summer League 1

OF Vincente Lupo, Dominican Summer League 2

The organizational minor league awards will be presented in an on-field ceremony on Saturday, September 8 prior to the game against the Braves at Citi Field.

Great to see all these players being honored, some of whom had spectacular under the radar seasons like Vincente Lupo and Hansel Robles.

Congratulations to all the winners.