And The Winner Is… Not Ike Davis!

The voting is complete, the winners have been determined, may I have the envelope please…

And the winner of the 2010 Gold Glove award for first base is… <insert sound of envelope being torn open>

Albert Pujols!

Albert could not be here tonight, but accepting the award on his behalf is the person who got shafted, Ike Davis.

“Albert Pujols couldn’t be here tonight, but he asked me not to thank all of you and let you know that this Gold Glove really belonged to me.”

Yes, unfortunately Ike Davis will have to wait another year to try and win his first Gold Glove award. Somehow, the voters were unswayed by Ike’s acrobatic bobblehead doll and all the cool “I Like Ike” buttons that were given to each of this year’s voters.

Alas, not a single Met will win a Gold Glove 2010.

Here are your Gold Glove winners in the National League this season:

  • Yadier Molina, STL (C)
  • Albert Pujols, STL (1B)
  • Brandon Phillips, CIN (2B)
  • Troy Tulowitski, COL (SS)
  • Scott Rolen, CIN (3B)
  • Carlos Gonzalez, COL (OF)
  • Shane Victorino, PHI (OF)
  • Michael Bourn, HOU (OF)
  • Bronson Arroyo, CIN (P)

Ike Davis turned in a spectacular season at first base defensively, with many memorable plays that were simply jaw-dropping to say the least.

But don’t worry about it kid, you’ll get’em next time.

About Joe D 7946 Articles
I'm a lifelong Mets fan who loves writing and talking about the Amazins' 24/7. From the Miracle in 1969 to the magic of 1986, and even the near misses in '73, '00 and '15, I've experienced it all - the highs and the lows. I started Mets Merized Online in 2005 to feed my addiction and interact with other passionate Met fans like you. Follow me on Twitter @metsmerized.