My Hall Of Fame Ballot – Sorry Big Mac!

On Friday, the new Hall of Fame Ballot was released for the 2010 class. The most notable newcomers include:

2B Roberto Alomar – An all-around threat in a 17-season career that included World Series championship years with the Toronto Blue Jays in 1992 and ’93. Alomar won 10 Gold Glove Awards for fielding and was a career .300 hitter with 2,724 hits, combining power (210 home runs) and speed (474 stolen bases). Alomar, part of a major-league family (father Sandy and brother Sandy Jr.), was the MVP of the American League Championship Series in 1992 and the All-Star Game in 1998.

SS Barry Larkin – The National League MVP in 1995, spent his 19-season career with the Cincinnati Reds and won a World Series ring in 1990. A .295 hitter with 2,340 hits, including 198 home runs, Larkin won three Gold Gloves and was named to 12 All-Star teams.

1B Fred McGriff – Led the AL in home runs in 1989 for Toronto and the NL in 1992 for San Diego and finished with a career total of 493, tied with Lou Gehrig for 26th place all-time. McGriff, a .284 career hitter with 2,490 hits and 1,550 RBI, was the All-Star Game MVP in 1994 and batted .303 with 37 RBI in 50 post-season games winning a ring with the Atlanta Braves in 1995.

DH Edgar Martinez – For whom the AL Designated Hitter Award is now named, won batting titles in 1992 and 1995 with the Seattle Mariners, his only club over 18 seasons. Martinez compiled a career .312 average with 2,247 hits, 309 home runs among them. He drove in 1,261 runs and scored 1,219.

Other freshmen include pitchers Pat Hentgen, Kevin Appier, Mike Jackson and Shane Reynolds, and hitters Andres Galarraga, Todd Zeile, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Ellis Burks and Ray Lankford.

Players who carried over from last year’s ballot include pitchers Bert Blyleven, Jack Morris and Lee Smith, plus hitters Andre Dawson, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Don Mattingly, Mark McGwire, Alan Trammell and Harold Baines.

Candidates may remain under consideration for up to 15 years provided they are named on at least five percent of the ballots cast.

According to the rules, those eligible to cast a ballot can vote for as many as ten players on one ballot. A player who who receives a vote on 75% of all ballots cast gains election to Cooperstown.

I read an interesting column by Newsday’s Ken Davidoff, who has decided to soften his stance and vote for Mark McGwire. I always felt that eventually McGwire would get in anyway, and I wonder if it could happen in 2010?

If I were one of those lucky enough to vote, my ballot would look like this.

1. Andre Dawson
2. Roberto Alomar
3. Barry Larkin
4. Edgar Martinez
5. Tim Raines

Just Missed – Bert Blyleven, Mark McGwire, Alan Trammell and Fred McGriff

Your thoughts?

About Joe D 8028 Articles
I'm a lifelong Mets fan who loves writing and talking about the Amazins' 24/7. From the Miracle in 1969 to the magic of 1986, and even the near misses in '73, '00 and '15, I've experienced it all - the highs and the lows. I started Mets Merized Online in 2005 to feed my addiction and interact with other passionate Met fans like you. Follow me on Twitter @metsmerized.