Pujols Wins MVP, Wright and Delgado In Top Ten

mlb_u_pujols_203.jpegAlbert Pujols has won the 2008 National League MVP Award.

Pujols hit .357 with 37 home runs and 116 RBIs while playing with a sore right elbow. He was rewarded despite the Cardinals’ fourth-place finish in the NL Central.

Pujols won by a comfortable margin over Philadelphia first baseman Ryan Howard. Milwaukee outfielder Ryan Braun was third and Los Angeles outfielder Manny Ramirez came in fourth place despit playing only two months with the Dodgers.

David Wright finished seventh and Carlos Delgado placed ninth.

NL MVP Top 10 Award Voting

Player 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Albert Pujols, St. Louis 18 10 2 369
Ryan Howard, Philadelphia 12 8 6 308
Ryan Braun, Milwaukee 2 3 139
Manny Ramirez, Los Angeles 2 4 138
Lance Berkman, Houston 2 4 126
CC Sabathia, Milwaukee 4 5 121
David Wright, New York 2 1 115
Brad Lidge, Philadelphia 2 2 104
Carlos Delgado, New York 5 96
Aramis Ramirez, Chicago 66
About Joe D 7944 Articles
I'm a lifelong Mets fan who loves writing and talking about the Amazins' 24/7. From the Miracle in 1969 to the magic of 1986, and even the near misses in '73, '00 and '15, I've experienced it all - the highs and the lows. I started Mets Merized Online in 2005 to feed my addiction and interact with other passionate Met fans like you. Follow me on Twitter @metsmerized.